By the Book #sol

Slice of LifeI love the By the Book interviews the New York Times Book Reviews conducts with authors. Here, I answer a few as I ease into the weekend…

Which books are currently on your night stand?
Under the Mesquite, Guadalupe McCall; Peaceful Parent, Happy Kids, Laura Markham; Hands Free Life, Rachel Macy Stafford; He Forgot to Say Good-bye, Benjamin Saenz; Mother Poems, Hope Anita Smith; Tofu Quilt, Ching Russell

What’s the last great book you read?
Me Before You, JoJo Moyes (I blogged about that experience here)

What genres do you especially enjoy reading? And which do you avoid?
I particularly enjoy “literary chick lit” (if that’s a thing): Liane Moriarty, Emily Giffin, Trisha Thomas, Jennifer Weiner and young adult multicultural stuff. I avoid historical fiction and science fiction. Just can’t do it. Nope.

What’s the last book that made you cry?
Me Before You: ugly cry!!

What kind of reader were you as a child?
I was the type of reader that read whatever I wanted and for hours on end. Reading was my escape. I also binged on topics: horses, dogs, series, the Vietnam War…I read whatever interested me: widely and wisely.

If you had to name one book that made you who you are today, what would it be?
A Teacup Full of Roses, Sharon Bell Mathis (confession: this question is amazingly difficult to answer. I am putting an asterisk next to this answer because I don’t have the mental energy to think this hard…)

What author, living or dead, would you most like to meet, and what would you like to know?
James Baldwin. I’d want to know how he always knew love is the only answer, particularly in today’s times. I’d also want to know what advice he would give to raise a Black boy in a way that is free of restrictions, of fear, and full of hope and the ability to dream and to be free.

 

 

8 thoughts on “By the Book #sol

  1. Love it! You were and are still an avid reader. I love the interview. Me too! I would love to sit with James Baldwin! Your questions are extremely pertinent!

    Like

  2. This is awesome, and I totally think it would be great to do at our school. Or at least our department.

    Also, James Baldwin wrote my absolute favorite quote in all of literature (seriously):

    “For, while the tale of how we suffer, and how we are delighted, and how we may triumph is never new, it always must be heard. There isn’t any other tale to tell, it’s the only light we’ve got in all this darkness.”

    Like

Leave a comment