#sol17 Day 21: Tracking My Reading

I love the Modern Mrs. Darcy for several reasons: great book recommendations, relevant lifestyle tips, and some interesting thinking about habit formation. A recent post was about tracking what you’re reading. She summarizes how a reader uses a Line-A-Day journal to record what she is reading every day.

At one point in my life–and I can’t quite pinpoint when that was, but I think it was in junior high–I wrote down every book I finished. Nope. It was definitely earlier because I just had a flashback of a spiral-bound notebook and some loopy handwriting. That was more like fourth or fifth grade. But yes, every single book. Then, I either lost interest or lost the notebook and my record keeping became much less intentional and much more haphazard. The older I get, the more I realize that my memory is not as great as it once was (was it ever as good as I imagined it?) and I’d really like to remember books that mattered to me. I write them down in a bullet journal, but there’s something about this MMD suggestion that works for me.

I started today. I’m currently reading My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante. I was late to this party–hasn’t everyone read these books? But I was poking around in our local library a few weeks ago and the first book in the series was there. I’ve postponed reading it for this long because I could never find the first book. Until now. Problem is, the book is now overdue and I can’t renew it so I’m reading as fast as I can and hoping the fines don’t accrue too much.

I wanted, also, to have some sort of reminder of the books E and I read together. We read a LOT. Under my own currently reading daily line, I wrote his: The Tales of Peter Rabbit. We have a fairy bookmother who sends us books in the mail. They seem to arrive just in the nick of time. Completely unexpected and always perfect. This is her latest gift and E is tickled pink with the rabbit stories.

A line for him, a line for me as we remember the books that make our reading lives.

One year ago: #sol16 Pretend


slice of lifeThis post is part of the Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Two Writing Teachers, who have created a space for writers and teachers of writers to come together. To learn more about this challenge, click here.

8 thoughts on “#sol17 Day 21: Tracking My Reading

  1. What a great idea. I too struggle with remembering everything that I’ve read – and I hate checking out a book and finding that I’ve already read it. Your description of your fifth grade self with loopy handwriting was wonderful. Thanks for the ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this idea! I wanted to do that too, but then I just struggled to have a place that was consistently for books…so I am, as a result, obsessed with GoodReads. I can track all my own reading and then have a “shelf” called “Read to Ruthie,” for the same idea you have for books you and E read together! I love it!

    I hope you continue your tradition for many years…it’ll be so fun for you and E to look back at your record later. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish I had kept a list of the books I read to my daughter. There was one series we read (a WHOLE SERIES) that I cannot remember the name of a single book for, nor the name of the series. I just.

    I keep track of my reading on Goodreads. The line-a-day is cool, though, because it’s a more of a journal and would give me a sense of my reading moods than GR does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

