Busy Making Other Plans #sol16

I missed yesterday’s SOL because by the time we reached home after school and Toddler sing-a-long, I was full-out ill. I was able to heat up E’s dinner, then watched him eat, played a moment, read one book and whisked him off to bed. I was a few moments behind.

Slice of LifeThe sleep cure seemed to have healed me enough to go to school today, but I was reminded how much of this single mom life I’m responsible for. Yes, I have a dear friend who lives a mile away and who means it when she says she will bring anything by for us. It was funny, but when I finally admitted to myself that I wasn’t feeling well, I wanted to talk to my mother. She is in Kentucky. What is she going to do?! So, I did what I imagined she’d suggest I do: go to bed and try to sleep it off.

During these moments when I’m not feeling myself, I worry: what if something happens to me? Will someone know to look for E? Last night, I willed myself through preparing his dinner and bedtime. I just had to do it. And yes, this is my responsibility that I love and have accepted willingly, but when my body reminds me that it is, indeed, a human body, I am waylaid.

It’s also times like this one that make me think that maybe it’s not so great to be so far from home. I’m not suggesting my own family is some big prize, because we have our own sturm und drang, but it is own own and there are lots of us, ranging from my mother, to my sisters, to my nieces and nephews, aunts, uncles.

I feel alone during these times. I know I have a village of wonderful friends and supporters, but, still, alone.

I was sad I missed my SOL streak. That I could not muster the energy to write it, I realize, attests to how out of commission I was. I think I woke up in the middle of the night and was disappointed that I’d not been able to write.

But, today is a different day.

Now, though, I am well enough, to be grateful for today, to be reminded that I am healthy enough to fend off illness, particularly when I have more and more friends who are struggling on that front.

The upshot: it’s Friday, Friday, Friday.

Grace is greater than guilt. I will grant myself as much as I need to make it through today.

13 thoughts on “Busy Making Other Plans #sol16

  1. Yes, allow Grace to bless you throughout the day. I am so glad a good night’s sleep reinvigorated you. Yes, as a single mother, myself, I know exactly your worries. All the what ifs as we worry about protecting our children if we are not able to do so. That worry used to overwhelm me when I was ill, but really, I am a witness God provides. You need not worry. There is a passage in the Bible that calls us not to worry about anything but pray about everything. Keep feeling well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you have enough on your plate without feeling bad about not slicing 😉 Always be sure to take care of yourself so you can take care of your baby! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember travelling in Thailand and succumbing to an awful stomach bug that wiped me and my fellow travel companion for a day or two. The only thing I wanted to do was to call mom. And Dr. Mom prescribed plenty of rest as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Becoming a mom was actually made me what realize I needed to take better care of myself. There’s nothing you can do for other people if you aren’t ok yourself! I’m glad you are jumping back into writing, even though you missed a day! Last year I missed a lot of days, and I had to work hard to forgive myself each time, but it was worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve been known to call my mom when I’m not feeling well, even though there is nothing she can do. Somehow it makes me feel better. I understand the feeling alone. I moved hours away from my family before having kids and sometimes it’s been tough to not have that family support. Being sick when you have someone depending on you is tough. Glad you are feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

