3/4/15: One Glorious Hour #sol15

My school district participates in a professional development program called Teachers As Scholars. It’s a wonderful experience: classes are taught by college professors and we spend two full-day sessions learning, discussing and interacting with colleagues from around the state. I’ve taken a class on the Odyssey in the past, while this year my class is about Integrating LGBTQI literature into classrooms.

Slice of Life Challenge

The program began at 9 a.m. I dropped E off at the daycare at school, and found myself with ONE WHOLE HOUR  before the seminar started.

I have not had an entire hour to myself, without my child, that I have not had to pay a babysitter for since he was born.

Glancing at my watch, I inhaled and exhaled with the deepest sense of gratitude and glee, then ambled over to a Panera in Harvard Square, ordered a coffee and some toast, then went upstairs. There, I sat at a corner table and did…

absolutely nothing… It was the most magnificent nothing I have ever enjoyed.

Then, just in case I find myself with another whole hour of my own time between now and when he leaves for college, I’ve made a list of what I can do–or not do–to reconnect with myself. I will reference this list in case I forget what to do with myself. In no particular order:

  • Sit upstairs in the Harvard Square Panera or Starbucks and look out the window
  • Take a walk
  • Journal
  • Write some letters or notes to people I miss (stow a few cards in the back of your Moleskine)
  • Go to CVS and read ALL the trashy magazines
  • If you must use your phone, read short articles (try Brain Pickings)
  • Creama cafe: coffee and a chocolate chip cookie
  • Ice cream. Always ice cream.
  • Knit
  • Take 5 deep breaths, then close your eyes and take 5 more
  • Listen to The Read (don’t forget your headphones)
  • Dream of your condo kitchen: Pinterest some ideas, go down the Pinterest rabbit hole
  • Visit some of your favorite blogs: Abundant Mama, Momastery, Hands Free Mama, Stacy L. Brown, A Design So Vast, Dina Reilles
  • Put some good lotion on your hands. Rub it in slowly
  • Make some more lists (fun places you want to visit with E; words that start with the letter E; indulgences after buying a condo)
  • Dream of the baby book: having someone else do it for me
  • Work on my eBook
  • Dream a bit about the future…

One wonderful hour. All mine.

4 thoughts on “3/4/15: One Glorious Hour #sol15

  1. I love the idea that you took the opportunity to make a list of things that you would do when/if you found yourself with time to yourself. If it helps, as a mother of 3 boys ages 6 to 13, there will come a time down the road when your little darling will gain enough independence to give you some time to yourself every once in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember those days..and now I have all the hours I want because my kids are grown and gone. I love your list especially the lotion! I remember those days. I wish I had them back to make my own list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

