3/2/15: Finding Joy in Cancellations? #sol15

We attend baby swim classes on Sundays. Our first class was when E was about 7 months old. It’s essentially circle time in the pool, but our other baby friends and their parents come. What else are you going to do on a Sunday given that E wakes up like clockwork at 6 a.m. seven days a week?

Yesterday was the start of the next session of classes for the “spring” session (um…I don’t know if the YMCA got the memo, but spring is NOT coming to Boston anytime soon). The weather makes what is typically a five-minute walk longer, requiring a bit more focus and concentration (is that ice or snow?), and when we arrive, it’s another 10 minutes or so to change E into his swim diaper and trunks.

Once we got out to the pool, though, we learned that our “shrimp” swim class was cancelled because the temperature of the pool was too cold for babies. Sigh. Another parent, also in that same class, implored if the Y simply could have alerted us BEFORE leaving our houses about this change. Blank stares from the staff.

I’m an avid collector of Pinterest quotes. I generally never remember them, though, when I’m not on a pinning frenzy. However, a smidgen of some quote floated into my head at the exact moment when I could do one of two things: react with annoyance to the cancellation or simply deal with it with some sort of positivity. The quote had something to do with kids taking on their parents’ behaviors. Thus, they watch how you respond and, when faced with some sort of challenge, they act the same way [Note: kind of funny that I think in Pinterest quotes…oy].

What did we do? E seemed perfectly happy watching the bigger kids splash around in the water. I held him on my lap, he wrapped in his blue towel, and we described what we saw, laughed, talked to the other parents whose older children could stand the temperature. I explained to him that sometimes, things don’t go as planned, and that people make decisions about how to keep us healthy, and that those decisions are fine and for the best. Sure, internally I was lamenting having to find other activities to replace the surefire one that swimming offers; it wasn’t the end of our world, though. The class will be made up. We will swim next week.

My reaction to the change made all the difference, I reckon. I don’t want him to be inflexible. We had fun anyway. He seemed unbothered. He is a baby, after all. Bundled back up, we trudged home, him snoring softly in his carrier.

5 thoughts on “3/2/15: Finding Joy in Cancellations? #sol15

  1. This is lovely and I enjoyed reading it first thing this morning. I laughed when I read about the Pinterest quotes. I have a whole board of them and am always referring to them for inspiration. I particularly like your ending. Endings are something with which I struggle.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember swim class with our older son, just like that — circle time in the water — and what a nice diversion it was to a day. It is too bad you didn’t get the heads up before you headed out.
    Kevin

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Being flexible is such a great skill to teach your little one! It always works out better when we can remember not to sweat the little things (to borrow another quote!) and it sounds like you had fun in spite of the cancellation. Here’s to happy swimming next week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

